Innovative Physics wins BEEAs Grand Prix


Innovative Physics comes out on top at a fabulous celebration of British engineering.

Research and development company Innovative Physics has been named the winner of the Grand Prix at the 2022 British Engineering Excellence Awards (BEEAs), held at the Landmark Hotel, London.

Specialising in evolving technologies including sensor technology, artificial intelligence (AI) and pattern recognition, Innovative Physics had earlier won the new ‘High Impact Innovator of the Year’ category and was judged to be the strongest of the nine categories.
A small but rapidly growing business Innovative Physics (IPL) looks to solve complex science and engineering challenges and has been involved in many significant, wide-ranging projects, from aiding nuclear decontamination and identifying security risks at airports, to developing techniques that will help speed up the process of detecting cancer.

As an SME competing with more established and well-known companies in the international nuclear industry, the trading challenges have been significant. But IPL has overcome these by producing innovative products faster and by offering alternative ways for clients to acquire its technologies.

The judges’ called Innovative Physics: “A strong contributor delivering real innovation in industry 4.0 technologies to important markets.”

Other standout winners included Ansible Motion’s Delta S3, a compact, lightweight Driver-in-the-Loop (DIL) simulator. It enables accurate simulation of all ground vehicles and vehicle componentry in immersive real-world environments. Another was the R&D Project of the Year the ZipCharge Go, the only portable, bi-directional EV charger on the market.

Paul Fanning, Publishing Director of awards organiser MA Business, said: “It was a delight to be back with the BEEAs as an in-person event for the first time in more than two years. While it sometimes felt as though everything had had changed over the last couple of years, one thing that certainly hasn’t changed is the quality of UK engineering and of the people, projects and products showcased in this year’s entries – particularly the winners. I’m delighted that, with the help of our sponsors, judges and entrants, we’ve been able to celebrate that.”




Engineered Product of the Year

Sponsored by Comsol

Ansible Motion Delta S3 – Ansible Motion

Highly Commended: LaunchPad 80. – AB Dynamics


R&D Project of the Year

ZipCharge Go


Design Project of the Year

EVA 1.5 - Emergency Ventilator – Team Consulting


Design Engineer of the Year

Sponsored by Publitek

Joshua William Lynch – One Team Wessex


Design Software/Development Tool of the Year

ACE - AI-driven circuit design generator – CircuitMind


Electronic Product of the Year

Radio Wave Sensor – Socionext


Engineering Ambassador of the Year

Roni Savage – Jomas Associates

Highly Commended: Larissa Suzuki, Google


High-Impact Innovator of the Year

Sponsored by Solidworks

Innovative Physics


Materials Application of the Year

Sponsored by Goodfellow

CeramycGuard – Haydale


Grand Prix Winner

Innovative Physics