Countdown to BEEAs week

2 min read

There are just two more weeks until the winners of this year's British Engineering Excellence Awards are announced. The week of March 22-26 will see the winners announced in full. Be there.

The British Engineering Excellence Awards celebrate the best of design engineering in the UK from 2019-2020. Clearly, this has been an unusual time and this ceremony reflects that. However, we have been determined all along to ensure that excellence was recognised regardless.

Rather than the much-missed physical ceremony, the Awards this year will be hosted live on the BEEAs website ( and later on the websites of Eureka! ( and New Electronics (

The schedule for these announcements is as follows:

Monday 22nd March, 11am GMT

Consultancy of the Year 2020 – sponsored by MAG

Design Team of the Year 2020 – sponsored by New Electronics

Engineering Ambassador of the Year 2020 – sponsored by #EngineeringHeroes

Tuesday 23rd March, 11am GMT

Electronic Product of the Year 2020 – sponsored by COMSOL

Mechanical Product of the Year 2020 – sponsored by Eureka!

Wednesday 24th March, 11am GMT

Materials Application of the Year 2020 – sponsored by Goodfellow

Small Company of the Year 2020 – sponsored by Engineering Solutions Live

Thursday 25th March, 11am GMT

Start-Up of the Year 2020 – sponsored by SolidWorks

Young Design Engineer of the Year 2020 – sponsored by MA Business

Friday 26th March, 11am GMT

BEEAs Special Award for Design Engineering 2020 – sponsored by SolidWorks

Grand Prix 2020 – sponsored by Distrupol

The companies shortlisted in each BEEAs category are:

Design Consultancy of the Year




Tunley Engineering

Design team of the year

Musk Process Services

Precision Acoustics


Zytronic Displays

Electronic product of the year

ADE9153 Energy Measurement IC with Self-Calibration and Sensor Monitoring – Analog Devices – XMOS

Vitis™ – Xilinx Inc.

PanelPilot ACE – Lascar Electronics

SC1701 Smart Display Controller

Socionext Europe

Charge Pod – Original Limited

OMC FDE870HE ultra-high-efficiency infrared SMA – OMC (UK)

Engineering ambassador of the year

Energus - nucleargraduates

Rapid Electronics

Frida Nzaba , Rolls-Royce Plc


Materials application of the year

Unlocking efficiency through a step-change in Highways England’s Thin Surface Course Systems (TSCS) – Highways England

ReDRESS Project – Precision Acoustics


Mechanical product of the year

Syngas Induced Draft Fan – Halifax Fan


Championship winning transmission for the ABB Formula E 2019/20 season – Ricardo

Hyperbike EB-01 – Swindon Powertrain

C34 Evolution – Turfmech Machinery

Kozee light switch – Wireless Navitas

Small company of the year

123 Insight

Bark Engineering


Datum Electronics

Dynamic Load Monitoring (UK)

Midstream Lighting

Partners in Packaging Machines Systems

Ridgway Machines


Start-up of the year

Archangel Lightworks

Ovon Technology

Quanta Dialysis Technologies

Young design engineer of the year

Lewis George, HORIBA UK

Louis Walker, Ionix

Mohammed Tahir, Plextek RFI

Join us during BEEAs Week March 22-26 at 11am each day on to find out the winners.