BEEAs shortlist announced

MA Business, publisher of Eureka! and New Electronics magazines, is delighted to announce the shortlist for this year's British Engineering Excellence Awards (BEEAs).

“Now in their eighth year, the BEEAs entries continue to prove that British design innovation and engineering lead the world,” said Eric Wilkinson, COO with Cambridge Consultants, who chaired the judging panel. “The standard of entries for this year’s awards has been exceptionally high and, as in previous years, the judges found it difficult to agree on the shortlist. From innovative start ups and inspiring design teams to ground breaking materials applications and state of the art new products, the strength of the shortlisted entries demonstrates all that is great about British design engineering.”

The companies shortlisted in each BEEAs category are:

Consultancy of the Year
3form Design
42 Technology
Drive System Design
GRM Consulting
Haughton Design
Williams Advanced Engineering

Design Engineer of the Year
Chris Hew, Reliance Precision
Chris Holden, Loowatt
Alexander McDiarmid, Parker Bestobell
Anthony Polson, M-Tec Group
Simon Willis, 3form Design

Design Team of the Year
ByteSnap and Cocoon
Dexela and ISDI

Materials Application of the Year
BAE Systems, Highly Robust Ground Platform
Nylacast, Chock liner
Oil States Industries, Mechanical packer housing assembly
Oxford Advanced Surfaces, Onto adhesion promoters
TT Electronics, silicon carbide power MOSFET

New Product (Electronic) of the Year
Biosite Systems, Networked fire alarm
Brompton Technology, Tessera R2
Lightpoint Medical, LightPath imaging system
PerkinElmer, Dexela 2020 and 3030
Symetrica, VeriFinder
Tech Will Save Us, Mover Kit

New Product (Mechanical) of the Year
Houlder, Wind farm foundation pile upending tool
JCB, Hydradig
Punk , Gim-Ball torque coupling
Select Plant Hire, Retractable crane windsail
Wheelabrator, Comet HD blast wheel

Small Company of the Year
Forth Engineering
Innovative Physics
Pharos Architectural Controls
Physical Digital

Start Up of the Year
Brompton Technology
Zikodrive Motor Controllers

Young Designer of the Year
Christopher Bellamy, Jaguar Land Rover
Luke Hubbard, Orb Electrical Steel
Beatriz Olarte Martinez, Expert Tooling and Automation

The winners will be announced at a gala lunch at the Honourable Artillery Company (HAC), London, on 6th October.

For more on the British Engineering Excellence Awards, click here.