British Engineering Excellence Awards 2018 shortlist released

MA Business, publishers of New Electronics and Eureka magazines, is delighted to announce the shortlist for this year’s British Engineering Excellence Awards (BEEAs).

“For nearly ten years the British Engineering Excellence Awards have been the benchmark for great British engineering design and set the standard to which many aspire. Every entry is scrutinised and assessed in great detail before the winners are decided,” said Eric Wilkinson, chairman of the judging panel and CEO at Cambridge Consultants. “Once again, this year’s entries are exceptionally diverse, and it has been a pleasure to review and assess them and pare them down to the shortlist.From innovative Start-Ups and enthusiastic Young Design Engineers to inspiring Engineering Ambassadors and cutting-edge New Products, the strength of the shortlisted entries demonstrates all that is great about British design engineering.”

The companies shortlisted in each BEEAs category are:

Consultancy of the Year

Bennett Engineering Design Solutions

GRM Consulting


Stirling Dynamics

Design Engineer of the Year

Andrew Dearnley, Industrial Spray Solutions

Graham Fick, Zikodrive Motor Controllers

John Alton, Lascar Electronics

Orla Murphy, Jaguar Land Rover

Design Team of the Year

ByteSnap Design - ATS Focus Multimedia Player

SMR UK - Eco Mirror

on-systems ltd - Pebble

Imagination Technologies - PowerVR Series2NX Neural Network Accelerator

Engineering Ambassador


Orla Murphy, Jaguar Land Rover

Rapid Electronics

RS Components

TDK-Lambda UK

Materials Application of the Year

CLASS Tie-blade Knuckle, GRM Consulting

Nylacast Chock Liner, Nylacast Engineered Products

New Product (Electronic) of the Year

BR815/6 advanced graphic controller ICs, Bridgetek

CUS150M series of medical AC-DC power supplies, TDK Lambda

EL-MOTE, Lascar Electronics

PDR IR-E3 Micro, PDR Rework

PowerVR Furian Series8XT GT8525 GPU, Imagination Technologies

T-Contacts, Harwin

RF System on Chip (RFSoC), Xilinx

New Product (Mechanical) of the Year

Delta A Pre-plumbed cylinder, OSO Hotwater UK

Sea Stallion cable plough, Royal IHC

Solar IP CCTV System, Sunstone IP Systems

Hydrogen Fuel Cell Air-Side Compressor, Aeristech

Train and Bogie Mover Turtle 3100, Harmill Systems

Small Company of the Year




JR Dynamics


Synergie Environ

Start Up of the Year



Tunley Engineering

Zikodrive Motor Controllers

Young Designer of the Year

Ahmed Zribi, Woodford Heating & Energy

Brent Brakeboer, Surrey Satellite Technology

Callum Bramley, RESPOND

Polly Britton, Plextek Services

The winners will be announced at a gala lunch to be held at etc Venues, County Hall, London, on 4th October.

To join in the celebration of British engineering, tables for the lunch can be booked online.