British Engineering Excellence Awards 2019 shortlist released

MA Business, publisher of New Electronics and Eureka magazines, is delighted to announce the shortlist for this year’s British Engineering Excellence Awards (BEEAs).

Luke Webster, publishing director of MA Business, said: “This is the 10th Anniversary of the British Engineering Excellence Awards and as long as they have been in existence, they have been the benchmark for great British engineering design. I’m delighted to say that this year is no exception, with an exceptionally diverse and fascinating set of entries.

“As befits such an important anniversary, this year we will not only be celebrating the present and future of British engineering, but also honour the winners of the past with the ‘Design Engineer of the Decade’ category. In this way, we hope to celebrate everything that’s great in British engineering design.”

The companies shortlisted in each BEEAs category are:

Consultancy of the Year

Bennett Engineering Design Solutions
ByteSnap Design
Drive System Design

Design Team of the Year

Synergie Environ – Airport Integrated Low Carbon Energy Systems Design
Oxford Instruments NanoScience – Designing greener high magnetic fields
EarthSense & Bluefrog Design – Development of the Zephyr® Air Quality Sensor
Salamander Pumps – EVE
Nanusens – MEMS-within-CMOS
DRB Group – Unilever R&D detergent plant platforms

Engineering Ambassador

Beth Faulkner, DRB Group
Darren Williams, TWI
Energus – nucleargraduates
Laura Giddings, RS Components
Rapid Electronics

Materials Application of the Year

Alvant– AlXal brake rod
Alvant– CorXal
Plessey Semiconductors – Native Green GaN-on-Si microLED
Zircotec Group – ZircoFlex Heat Shield

New Product (Electronic) of the Year

Beryl – Beryl Bike
EAVE – EAVE Focus Lite
Grayson Thermal Systems – GTS BTMS (Battery Thermal Management System)
Plessey Semiconductors – microLED Emissive Display
Nanusens – NEMS nanosensors family
Peratech – Peratech QTC based EDGE Solution
Quanta Dialysis Technologies – SC+
Siretta – SNYPER-LTE Graphyte

New Product (Mechanical) of the Year

Terex – AggWash 300
ELE International – AUTO Soil Consolidator (ASC)
Bowman Power – ETC 1000
LDS Hire & Sales – G-DECK
Diamond light source – Interference fit monochromator cooling system
Johnston Sweepers – Johnston VE652 aka EVIE
Wilson Tool – PX QuickTap
Russell Finex – Russell AMPro Sieve Station
JR Dynamics – Smart Oil Plug
Aeristech – Centrifugal Compressor

Small Company of the Year

Bennett Engineering Design Solutions
Generative Parametrics
Innovative Physics
Precision Acoustics
Synergie Environ

Start Up of the Year


Young Designer of the Year

James Veale, GiroNEX
Matthew Ringland, Spiroflow
Sam Edwards, Azbil Telstar

Design Engineer of the Decade

Mark Sanders – 2009 winner
Andrew Burrows – 2010 winner
Shaun Addy – 2011 winner
James White – 2012 winner
Sebastien Cuvelier Mussalian – 2013 winner
Peter Greenhalgh – 2014 joint winner
Mike Franklin – 2014 joint winner
Richard Poulton – 2015 winner
Alexander McDiarmid – 2016 winner
Jake Willis – 2017 winner
Orla Murphy – 2018 winner

The winners will be announced at a gala lunch to be held at The Landmark London, on Friday 11th October.

To join in the celebration of British engineering, tables for the lunch can be booked online at: