British Engineering Excellence Awards 2017 shortlist unveiled

MA Business, publisher of New Electronics and Eureka magazines, is delighted to announce the shortlist for this year’s British Engineering Excellence Awards (BEEAs).

“Every year the judges review and assess scores of great entries to whittle them down to the shortlist. This year’s BEEAs entries are brilliantly diverse and continue to prove that British design innovation and engineering lead the world,” said Eric Wilkinson, chairman of the judging panel and CEO designate at Cambridge Consultants.“It has been a great privilege to Chair the BEEAs judging panel and as ever it was difficult to agree on the shortlist.From innovative Start-Ups and inspiring Young Design Engineers to ground-breaking Materials Applications and state-of-the-art New Products, the strength of the shortlisted entries demonstrates all that is great about British design engineering.”

The companies shortlisted in each BEEAs category are:

Consultancy of the Year

Penso Group

Spacechips Ltd


GRM Consulting

ITL Group (Integrated Technologies Limited)

Drive System Design Ltd

Design Engineer of the Year

Louis Verdegem - Bosch Rexroth

Graham Paul Fick - Zikodrive Motor Controllers

Vernon Kerswell - Extreme Fliers

Dave Swan - Tharsus Group

Jake Wallis – Lontra

Design Team of the Year

Customer Focussed Innovation Team - Jaguar Land Rover

Extreme Fliers - Microdrone

RackEye - A-Safe

PRaVDA: Enhancing Proton Beam Therapy for Cancer Treatment - University of Lincoln

ITC (Integrated Topload Cartoner) Project - Kliklok International

Engineering Ambassador

Iulia Motoc

TDK-Lambda UK

RS Components


Rapid Electronics

Materials Application of the Year

Metallic glass composites with optimum wear and antimicrobial performance - Northumbria University

Lucian PLW7070 High Power LED using GaN-on-Si technology - Plessey Semiconductors Ltd

Composite Lightweight Rail Door - Penso Group

Jaguar Land Rover Hybrid Engine Sump - GRM Consulting

Abbey Well Twist Water Bottle - Kinneir Dufort

New Product (Electronic) of the Year

Gecko-SL series of connectors

XJTAG DFT Assistant


Lucian PLW7070 High Power LED

Peratech QTC based 3D Multi-Touch Matrix Sensor

New Product (Mechanical) of the Year

High Visibility Biopsy Needle

Hot Spot Locator

Libralato rotary hybrid engine

mag-Net wearable connector

Russell AMPro Sieve Station

The Aeristech "sole Supercharger" or "sCharger" for engine downsizing and CO2 emissions reduction

New Product (Aerospace) of the Year

Artemis - Smith Myers Communications

Next Generation Satellite Receiver - Spacechips Ltd

Vertex – Exclin

Micro Drone 3.0 – Extreme Fliers

Small Company of the Year

Synergie Environ Ltd

Spacechips Ltd

Diamond Hard Surfaces Ltd

Open Bionics

Emblation Ltd

Start Up of the Year

Libralato Ltd

Spacechips Ltd


Open Bionics

Bristol Braille Technology

Young Designer of the Year

David Cullimore - Prodrive

Sam Scargill - Jacobs

Liam Harrison - Tharsus

Rob Hanson - Designability

Tom Kelley - Precision Acoustics Ltd

Sarah Jessica Dempsey - Peratech

The winners will be announced at a gala lunch at the Honourable Artillery Company (HAC), London, on 5th October.

To join in the celebration of British engineering tables for the lunch can be booked online at: